It’s Potty Time!

February 29, 2012 § 1 Comment

When I was in college I worked at a toy store.  It was of the upscale variety that soothed parent’s reservations about buying yet another plaything because, in addition to being entertaining, these toys were also educational.   A train table sat in the middle of the store and, on most mornings, was host to a group of kids playing and moms chatting.  And at least several times a week the following scene would unfold:

Unseen child: I HAVE TO GO POTTY!

It was a battle call that rallied the moms from their conversations, heads simultaeously snapping to attention.  With all the hillarity and mayhem of a French Farce, the moms would scramble to figure out who’s child had sounded the alarm.  Eventually the mom of the offending child would emerge, kid in tow, and frantically ask me for the bathroom.

After showing her through the storeroom I’d chuckle as I went back to my work.  How could a bathroom break cause such panic?

And now it’s me, running around like chicken little with my head cut off when my little boy shouts “IT’S POTTY TIME!”.  The sky is falling; it lands as a puddle of pee on the floor.

§ One Response to It’s Potty Time!

  • Danielle says:

    Yes indeed. And it still causes me to scramble, because they usually don’t leave much of a buffer once they say: “I’ve got to go to the potty!”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Potty Time! at In The Off Hours.

meta

