Stop the Insanity

March 6, 2012 § 4 Comments

I’m not sure if a commute actually becomes easier over time or if you just become insanely oblivious to the blur of red taillights that stretch out ahead. 

I’ve had a 45-60 min drive to work for the majority of my adult life. When I mention this I get a mix of incredulity and pity from my non-commuting friends, an exasperated sigh of commiseration from my fellow road warriors.  And it can be frustrating to have the success of getting out of the house early erased by a jam that adds an extra half hour to the drive.  It can also be enjoyable to sit in the quiet of my car and listen to a good book.  Since returning to work this past August I’ve {attemped to} stop the insanity of my commute with a string of quite enjoyable audiobooks.

The Help – A group of friends set a date to see the movie so I listened to the entire 18 hour audio book in one week because I wanted to ‘read’ it before seeing it.  Loved the story.  Loved the narrators.  This book was definately better listened too.  Each character was read by a different narrator and they brought the book to life.

Eat, Pray, Love – This was the one dud.  The movie looked cute and I was interested in seeing it so I thought I’d ‘read’ the book first.  It was on the bestseller list so thousands of people can’t be wrong, can they?  They can.  I got through the part in Italy because the food descriptions sounded delicious.  But when we got to the next destination and started spending all our time medetating I totally lost interest.  I’m happy it worked out for the author to take a year long trip around the world to find herself, but I just couldn’t relate.  I didn’t have the patients to listen to her issues.  I mean, the rest of us just get up, go to work, get over it and get on with it.

The Kitchen House – Set on a Virginia Plantation in the 1790’s, The Kitchen House is like The Help on steroids.  I was totally captivated,  drove down the highway chewing my fingernails, and on more than one occasion arrived at work near tears.  The characters were so deep I felt for all of them, even the ones I dispised.  I would definately recommend this one.  But be warned that it will require some emotional energy.

The Forgotten Garden – This was the first book I read by Kate Morton; I will definately be looking for more from her.   It spins the stories of seval different characters and weaves them all togehter in a facinating tale set in the late 1800’s – early 1900’s.  Every mystery solved uncovers a new set of questions.  I thouroughly enjoyed this book and the delicious melancholy that it left to linger in.

§ 4 Responses to Stop the Insanity

  • Danielle says:

    I’ve read two of these books. I tried watching the “Eat, Pray, Love” movie and it was a dud too. I can’t think of a more dull movie! “The Girl Who Chased the Moon” was the one I was telling you about last time. Delicious descriptions, a little mystery, and some fantasy made this a light and entertaining listen.

    • mandie says:

      Well, my desire to watch “Eat, Pray, Love” was extinguished by the book…LOL.
      I’ll have to add “The Girl Who Chased the Moon” to my audible list. I’m currently enjoying “The Violets of March”, thanks for that suggestion! And yes, I waited until March to listed to it. Corny, I know 🙂

  • Callie says:

    Hmm, I haven’t read any of these! I think audiobooks are the way to go though, so I might have to check them out. . . .

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stop the Insanity at In The Off Hours.

meta

