I Finally Bought a Chicken!

September 14, 2012 § 2 Comments

No, I don’t have live poultry running around my postage stamp of townhouse yard.  Although it might be fun to see what sort of convulsions that would send the homeowner’s association into.  I finally bought a whole {dead} chicken for cooking purposes without it being a special occasion!  Yes, I realize that normal people do this regularly.  So why is it post worthy?  It’s a big step for someone who is culinary challenged and was, until a few short years ago, a vegetarian.

When I started cooking with meat my recipe criteria was quick and easy.  The majority of chicken recipes I came across called for a package of boneless, skinless breasts. Quick-check, easy-check. I prefer white meat and don’t really care for the taste of dark, so i got into the habit of buying only chicken breasts.

I could have gone on very happy this way except for a pesky nag in the back of my head calling me wasteful for only wanting to consume certain parts of the bird.  Add to that all of the disturbing information about chickens that are given hormones to the point of mutating into nothing but huge breasts, or something along those lines, and my conscience started to bother me.  How could I be unhappy about large breasted, hormone-loaded chickens if I was part of the white-meat only consumers creating the demand.

So I finally bought a whole {organic} chicken for a regular dinner.  My husband wrapped it in prosciutto and roasted it on the big green egg.  And I ate dark meat as well as white meat.  And we made chicken salad with the leftovers.  And chicken stock with the carcass.  And the only thing the nag in my head could say was “Yum!”.

§ 2 Responses to I Finally Bought a Chicken!

  • Danielle says:

    Hum! I bookmarked that chicken recipe. And did you know you can make chicken broth in the crockpot while you’re at work or away for the day? I never even considered using that until recently. Brilliant thought!

  • mandie says:

    The chicken comes out so flavorful!
    We actually did the broth in the crockpot :). That way I was able to start it at night after dinner so it simmered all night and all the next day {a Sunday}. I’m still working up the nerve to leave the crockpot on al day while I’m at work. I have this irrational fear for some reason…lol

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Finally Bought a Chicken! at In The Off Hours.

meta

