Best Beauty Purchase Ever

October 1, 2012 § 4 Comments

Home Health Castor Oil

Castor Oil.

Seriously.  I’m not joking.

When I first heard of  The Oil Cleansing Method I was left cringing in the corner, clinging to my oily-skin facial cleanser; that miracle in a bottle that promised to deep clean pores, rid skin of impurities, and wash away all unwanted oil.   What?  Actually add oil to my skin?  You’ve got to be kidding!

So why did I decide to give it a go? 

Well, those miracle skin care solutions never actually turn out that miraculous.  I’m always left searching for something newer, better, that will result in less oil.  Why couldn’t they just work the way they were supposed to?

Actually, that was the problem.  They worked exactly the way they were supposed to.  They completely striped my skin of all oil.  This caused my skin to overcompensate and pump up the oil production in an effort to replace the oil I was washing away, resulting in a not so pretty oil-slick complextion.  It’s a viscous cycle.

So, as crazy as slathering oil on my already oily face sounded, I decided that since I’d tried just about every cleanser out there over the years, trying one more thing couldn’t hurt.  Besides, my trusty bottle of oil-busting cleaner was standing by just in case.

But the unbelievabel, shocking, mind-bending result was…

SMOOTH. BALANCED. CLEAR SKIN.

I couldn’t believe it.  Why had no one told me this before?

It’s been a week since I’ve washed my face with conventional cleaser.  The only thing I’ve been using to clean my face is a mixture of castor oil and olive oil.  And my skin has never been better.  No mid-day oil slick, no reaching for the pack of oil blotting papers I keep in my purse.   And I don’t need any other products {like toner or moisturizer} on my face so I’m saving money too.

But the best part about this new discovery may be that I’ve traded in things like Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Ammonium Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Dmdm Hydantoin, Phenoxyethanol {WHAT have I been putting on my skin and washing into our water supply all these years?!?!?!} for Castor Oil and Olive Oil.   Only two ingredients, and I can pronounce them both.  So oil up, here’s to saving the planet, my wallet, and my skin!

§ 4 Responses to Best Beauty Purchase Ever

  • Briana says:

    That’s awesome. I have combination skin. Do you think I might benefit from it? Honestly what I’m in the market for is a product to even skin tone, shrink pores and lighten up my dark circles under my eyes. Got any suggestions?

    • mandie says:

      It is pretty awesome, I can honestly say my skin has never been better! I’ve had fewer breakouts, and the blemishes I have gotten have gone away faster, with no harsh topical zit medication!
      I think you could definately benefit from this. As the weather gets cooler and dryer my skin turns more combination. The beauty of this is that you can change the amount of castor oil in the mix {more for oily skin, less for combination and dry skin} and totally customize it to your needs. The article I linked to also had suggestions for different types of oil for different skin types. So far I’ve just been using olive oil because that’s what I have in my pantry but I’d like to try some others. The hot towel step is vital, don’t skimp on that, and you won’t beleive how soft your face is after! If your skin is a bit dry after the hot towel step just dab a bit more of the oil solution on and rub it in like a moisturizer. In the morning I just splash my face with warm water and rub in a little more oil in the dry areas. Every so often I scrub my face with a baking soda paste to exfoliate.
      Since cleansing with oil I’ve notice that my skin tone is brighter and more even and my pores seem less noticable. I’ve actually stopped wearing foundation. I’ve been using it around my eyes too and I think my eye area is a bit brighter. I still use concealer under my eyes though because my skin is so fair that my veins show through and it looks a bit purpleish.
      Let me know if you try it!

  • Gina says:

    Glad you are liking the oil! I was very reluctant at first too! I have been using jojoba oil this go around with the castor oil and I like it:)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Best Beauty Purchase Ever at In The Off Hours.

meta

